going back

I wasn’t able to post this back on Saturday because of downloading problems so now that I have that sorted I thought I’d go back and post what I had already written with a few photos from that day.

Saturday October 8

I’m back in London with a switch in focus for a few days.

I had a wonderful train trip from Lincoln. I had a nice woman at the Lincoln ticket booth convince me that I was worth a first class ticket on a non-stop train to Kings Cross. I went for it for a fraction of an increase in cost. It was so worth it. I had a comfy seat in a quiet coach. No cell phones ringing and no one screaming. I should have done this on all my long-distance trips.

Pulled into Kings Cross station and got a cab to my hotel. Turns out my cabbie is from south London and so we had a lot to talk about….football, politics, the changing city.

Back at the Columbia Hotel at Lancaster gate I dumped my luggage and hit the street. I used the Underground to get to Oxford Street. It was packed. I almost couldn’t get on to the train. It was so hot. I must remember to take water because if you ever got stuck down there you’d become dehydrated quick.

I visited Carnaby Street and the Lomography store. What a fun place. I had lunch and a rummage around in Liberty of London, one of my favorite London stores. I just walked around for a while and stumbled on a wonderful photography gallery called Luma. They are showing these amazing panoramas taken by a man who is about 80. He hand-held all the shots and some of them are 8’ long. I loved them.

Just walking and clicking my camera.

it's the 60's again

Christmas store

origami birds

window display

street art

art on the end of a building

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in England, England 2011, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to going back

  1. Sue Breuner says:

    Great pictures Gretchen!

Leave a Reply

