WiFi finally

I’ve had no internet for the past few days so am taking advantage while I do have it to let you know what I have been doing. My cottage in Lincoln has no WiFi. How is that possible? I’ve been going to the library each night but now they are down. So right now I have left Lincoln and am on the train to Kings Cross, London, for 4 days in the city. It was suggested by a very nice woman at the Lincoln station that I go first Class so treated myself for only 5 pounds extra. I have WiFi on the train, plus a quiet car and no one talking on their cell phones. I am going to post what I had planned to put up here days ago so you can see where I have been and what I have been up to.

Wednesday, October 5th

It was a long day today starting with a two-hour train and bus ride into Derbyshire, but it didn’t stop there. We had to walk about 2 miles after we got off the bus to arrive at Hardwick Hall, the home of Bess Hardwick. However it was worth it.

She was a very wealthy woman of 16th-c England. She married four times, each time getting wealthier. She and her second husband bought Chatsworth, one of the finest homes in Derbyshire, but it was for Hardwick Hall that she gained her fame.

She started the first home in 1587 and then began work on another home, only a few hundred yards away, about 3 years later.

The old Hall is now a shell as a lot of it was dismantled around 1750. The newer home is still intact and run by the National Trust. It’s huge. The walls are draped with tapestries, as it was in Bess’s time, and so the windows are draped to keep light from fading the wall hangings. Now the home seems very dark but in Bess’s time the windows were left uncovered and the hall would have been very light.

I toured the homes and then gardens with a walk down to the ponds. The wind was howling and I was having trouble standing upright. Found it a challenge to take photos.

At least I made it back to Mansfield and the train before the rains started, but fall is really in the air here now.

the newer 16th century home

old 16th century Hardwick Hall

from the dahlia garden

an expensive alternative to wallpaper

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in An idea of home, England, England 2011, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

