A walk in the arboretum

 Another early morning because I couldn’t sleep. I thought I was on vacation and so why do I keep getting up by six in the morning? It’s not like anything is open that early. It’s quite interesting but I have found over the years that shops and attractions in England open late and close early. Towns seem to roll up the carpets by 6:00 p.m. at the latest. Only pubs and a few restaurants remain open at night.

Therefore, with the sun still shining here I decided to go for a walk in the arboretum. I think I’d call it a park instead as there were trees, but not that many. Lots of open green spaces, ponds and fountains and a very nice place to go for an early morning walk. Discovered, what I think was an old icehouse as it looked like the ones I’ve seen in London. The ducks on the ponds left ripples in the reflections and the fall leaves crunched under my feet.

ice house

splash

fall

ducks and pond

After the walk I explored some less traveled side streets and peeked over fences and down alleys. Some of the houses seemed to have no street access to get goods into the house. Others had tiny alleys. But most had satellite dishes hanging off the front of their homes. I do like walking around the neighborhoods of towns and cities I visit. It’s nice to see the tourist attractions, but I also want to see how people live…really live. For safety reasons I make sure I carry a map and a cell phone. At night I take a flashlight and always let someone know that I am heading out.

all in a row

without a way in?

My morning ended with lunch at Stokes Coffee House where I had a lovely bowl of spinach-leek soup and a pot of tea.

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in England, England 2011, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A walk in the arboretum

  1. Sue Breuner says:

    What a wonderful way you have of recapping each day! I’m truly enjoying reading your blog and looking at the beautful pictures!

Leave a Reply

