a fisheye’s view

Leaving my York flat this morning and thought I’d share a peek of where I was staying. A fisheye lens does not always give you the most pleasing look into your world but I have found that when I want to photograph interiors that it works well to get the whole room in one shot.

I have had amazing self-catering flats and cottages while in Wales and England. Well equipped. Good locations. I’ve had views of cathedrals, universities and minsters right out my window. I’ve watched the leaves change color and the skies light up. Now it’s on to the city of Lincoln and my flat is on Steep Hill and that is what it is: STEEP. So steep there is a handrail. I was going to walk from the train, but with such heavy luggage, a back pack and a shoulder bag I have decided a cab is in order. The cost might be 10 pounds ($15.00+) but it will save my back for another day. I have also found that with carrying all the weight in bags that it puts a lot of pressure on my poorly healed broken foot. So I’ll pamper myself.

I’m not sure when I will post next. The only thing my flat in Lincoln doesn’t have is WiFi. Go figure? So I have to cart my lap top down Steep Hill to an internet hot spot. Not sure how many times I will want to do this during this next week, but Doris will want to do the same. I guess it’s good exercise. So until next time, bye from York and try a fisheye lens.

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in An idea of home, England, England 2011, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

