As promised, more of the bridge

The last day in Bristol was meant for the main reason we went there in the first place: Brunel’s suspension bridge. Yesterday I took you on a journey along the floating harbor and River Avon. Today I just want to share more photos from the bridge. I’m not sure why Brunel chose the spot he did to build his bridge. There were more than 22 architects who submitted plans for a bridge to connect the Cliffton area of Bristol to the Leigh Wood side. Brunel’s design came in second and somehow, under protest by Brunel, his design was finally chosen. Maybe Daddy paid someone off?  As I told you yesterday the bridge was not completed until after his death and for years few carriages traveled across it. It was mostly used for walkers and people just wanting to be seen. Now today thousands of cars go across each day.

The mortar is coming out and so the bridge is undergoing a huge restoration project. the last repairs were made with Portland cement and that was not very successful. It is now planned to use a limestone mortar similar to what was used when the bridge was built. I admit I was a bit disappointed to see one end draped in scaffolding, but it’s also nice to see the work being done. Now I am in York and on first seeing York Minster it, too, is partly draped in scaffolding for needed repairs. I only hope I can walk up into the tower because when I was here 10 years ago it was too windy to go up.

So here I am, feet up, watching Miss Marple on British TV, having a cider and a piece of English clotted cream toffee. All from inside a lovely flat in an 18th century building that was once a hospital and from which I can enjoy a view of the Minster, scaffolding and all. Good night for now.

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in England, England 2011, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

