A photographic pilgrimage

I don’t know where to start when it comes to describing my day today. It was all about photography, but not me taking photos but about the man who started it all. He is credited with making the first paper negative that led the foundation to photography as we know it today, or maybe as we knew it with film. His name: Henry Fox Talbot.
Talbot lived in an abbey. Can you imagine? Not just an abbey but one that was built in medieval times. Talbot inherited the abbey and the town and conducted his experiments here. The first photo he made was of a bay window upstairs and I have taken a photo of the famous place. What struck me though was that the photo he made was no bigger than a postage stamp. I thought it must have been taken with an 8×10 format but it’s more 1×2. There are only copies of the picture at Lacock, but when I visit the National Media Museum next week in Bradford I’ll get to see the original.
Lacock Abbey is also famous as a location used in many film productions…..like Harry Potter. What a fitting tribute to have a modern day film made in a place where THE man lived who invented, or at least had a great deal to do with, modern photography.
There are other stories from this day: the man we met in Lacock who showed us the names of 3 of his cousins from the town who were killed in WWI and the man at the abbey who studies history, has connections with Henry Fox Talbot, was in the navy during WWII and loves America because he says without us England would not have won the war. More of all this later.
Time for bed. Tomorrow I am returning to Bath.

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in England, England 2011, Photography, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A photographic pilgrimage

  1. ashleypaige4 says:

    Great post! I didn’t know that the first picture ever was taken with negative paper was taken here, that’s really interesting, and it’s amazing how far we’ve come with photography now. I love your photos, as well, and your post was really informative, and a good read! Thanks for sharing!

    • gretchen says:

      Thank you. It was an amazing day. I’ll see the original Fox Talbot photo when I visit the Media Museum. I have an all-day appointment there to view items not normally shown to the public. I love visiting the UK. So much history to soak up.

Leave a Reply

