Climbing Cabot Tower

Nothing like saving the most difficult part of the day for last. After walking around the habourside area of Bristol all day in a mixture of rain and sunshine, we climbed the hill around Berkeley Square and I decided I had to go up Cabot Tower to check out the view. It wasn’t as difficult as St Paul’s Cathedral, but after being away from England for 2 years and not having any towers, steeples or domes to climb in Oregon I was a bit out of practice. Grunt. Groan. Gasp. But I will not be stopped and I made it to the top and I could still breathe and I don’t think my heart even skipped a beat.

The view made the effort worth it. I could see glimpses of Brunel’s ship, SS Great Britain and his suspension bridge. We’ll be visiting these later in the week. I had a better look at the University of Bristol tower which I also see from my flat.

But that was all at the end of our day. We started with a visit to the new Mshed Museum that sits along the floating harbor. Inside was the story of Bristol and its people. This gave us an idea of the history of the area before we set out exploring. Then we went to the Martin Parr photography exhibit. I had not heard of him before, but he records daily life in England and since I love street photography and scenes from daily life, this was right up my alley. The prints pinned to the walls were up to 3×5 feet. Vivid color. The exhibit shows about 50 of his photos, but if you exit through the gift shop, and don’t we all, you can purchase several of his books. I just can’t decide which one I want…yet. http://mshed.org/museum/events-and-exhibitions.

We were then going to walk down to the SS Great Britain since we are in Bristol to see Brunel’s world and the sun was shining so we thought we better take advantage. We didn’t get far before the sky opened up and it poured buckets of rain. Didn’t seem like a good time to explore a ship so we turned around and headed for the cover of St Marys Redcliffe church. All I can say about this one is that it is so beautiful, inside and out. It’s so large that I could not capture the exterior in one photo even standing across the street and using a 24mm lens. We explored the church for some time and talked to the docent who was lamenting the taking over of Great Britain by illegals…..hmmm…..

About this time we were starving and decided to have a traditional Sunday roast dinner with Yorkshire pudding. Won’t need to eat for several days now.

From here we walked to Bristol Cathedral just in time to catch the end of evensong.  So we were not allowed to walk around inside or take pix. Luckily I had already been here and didn’t need to so sat and listened to the organ and the mens choir. I almost fell asleep.

And then it was the tower

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in England, England 2011, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

