market day

Thursday is Market day in Hay on Wye. I went early to watch the merchants roll in to town and get set up for the onslaught. People must come in from miles away because normally there aren’t that many people in town, except for festivals, but today the town is booming with activity. I do wish market day had been at the beginning of my week here because I was so tempted to buy the fresh bread and pastries from the French pastry chef(Doris did and I had to help her eat them), the fresh fruit and veg from the green grocer, and the antiques and doo-dads. So much to take in. So I spent the day in town walking around the streets for the final time, checking out the bookshops again and watching the people go about their business. The weather was sunny and warm and the wind that plagues us early on was gone. So why am I leaving? A new adventure awaits.
About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Daily Life, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to market day

  1. Sue Breuner says:

    What did you buy at the market???

    • gretchen says:

      I was good and bought nothing because the next day I had to pack up and leave. My suitcase is already too heavy and anything I buy I’ll have to ship home. That’s the problem with bringing only one suitcase……or maybe it’s a good thing.

Leave a Reply

