Obsessed with books

I’ve just spent a week in Hay on Wye, Wales, the town of 40 book stores. With bookstores closing every day in the US it’s nice to come to a town where books get the center of attention that they deserve. I spent a lot of time browsing the shelves and sitting in the comfy chairs of book shops like : Murder and Mayhem, Hay on Books, the Hay Cinema book shop, and the famous Richard Booth’s.  I had to be a bit sneaky taking pictures inside some of the shops, however when I asked inside some of them the people working there were happy to let me.

Hay is a lovely town in Wales along the River Wye. I spent part of my stay here walking over the hills and along the river. I spent part of another two days in a private photography workshop with Will Lewis of http://www.photographytuition.co.uk. Not only did I learn some new photography techniques but I walked away with a head full of local history. It was a very enjoyable week and I hate to leave. I’d still like to hike the Brecon Beacons and tour the Black Hills. Hmmmm, maybe another visit is in my future.
For now enjoy the photos from some of the bookshops. Tomorrow I move on to Bristol.
About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Obsessed with books

  1. ashleypaige4 says:

    This looks absolutely amazing. My favorite local bookstore just closed last month, and I too am glad to see books appreciated and loved. There is something magical about books, and being able to hold them, bend the spine, crease the pages and write in margins that you can’t get with e-readers! I’m glad others still feel the same!

  2. Sue Breuner says:

    I would have enjoyed this stop!

Leave a Reply

