churches of olde

Goosebumps and emotions take over when I visit the old churches of Great Britain. I could visit these old religious establishments time and time again and I am still in awe. They are beautiful, but it’s not just their beauty that gets to me. I wonder how buildings dating from the 12th-century were built with such precision and are still standing and functioning. The stones, the timbers, the glass and the furnishings are all so beautiful. The fact  that the buildings might not stand straight and true makes no difference to the people who visit them. It all adds to the charm.
Today I visited two churches in the county of Herefordshire, England, just a short ride from where I am now staying. My traveling friend went with me and we were lucky to be guided by Will Lewis who was helping me with my photography. On my photography workshop yesterday I mentioned something about the black and white villages in the area and Will asked if we’d like to see them today. That decision was not difficult to make….YES! I’ll post the photos of the black and white buildings tomorrow, but today I wanted to share some photos of the churches in Weobley and Pembridge.
I would also like to thank Will for a wonderful two days. I learned a lot from Will and am already putting his advice into practice.
About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in England, England 2011, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

