Portobello Rd

I finally made it to Portobello Rd in London. It was a short walk from my hotel at Lancaster Gate. I thought that if I went on a Friday that there wouldn’t be much to see but I could scope it out and then return next month when I’ll be back in the city. I was pleasantly surprised. I was up at the crack of dawn and along the shopping district by eight in the morning. vendors were already setting up for the Friday market. I really wanted to find two things: the blue door and the travel bookshop from the movie, “NottingHill”. I found what I think was the row of houses that was used in the movie but there was more than one blue door and I couldn’t remember the house number so I’ll have to return after a little google search. Then I went on the hunt for the travel bookshop where Hugh Grant meets Julia Roberts for the first time. much to my disappointment, it is not located on Portobello Rd, but it is around the corner on a side street. Plus it turns out that it is “closed until further notice”. WHAT? I finally made it here and now it’s closed. I pressed my nose against the window to peer inside. The front part of the store still has books on tables and shelves but the back room is completely devoid of any reading material. I wonder if this bookshop is doomed like so many at home, closing because people are using E-readers and the internet. This makes me sad, but that’s another story.

I spent a couple of hours wandering up and down the street checking out the merchandise and looking into windows of shops that were closed because I was too early. I’ll be back on a Saturday and mingle with the crowds and get into that cute sewing and ribbon shop.
As you look through the photos notice the man selling old cameras. I was really intrigued by his selection, including a Hasselblad 500 C, until I saw him blowing the dirt and dust off the bellows of an old medium frame wood camera. If they are that dirty I imagine that they are not in working condition. Time to move on……..
About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in England, England 2011, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

