making portraits

Had a great day staying in with my friends in London today. The girls wanted to have me take their pictures so we set up a make-shift studio in their conservatory and tried using the light from the skylights and north facing window. I showed them how to use the reflectors to shine light onto the hair and get rid of unwanted shadows. As one posed the other worked with the reflectors.

After we took about 200 photos they chose the ones they liked and then Sophie edited them in Picnik. I was going to do them in Photoshop, but I have to admit, Picnik was pretty nice. She had all the photos looking the way she wanted. It would have taken me hours. So we made a good team. I took the photos and she changed them to fit her tastes.
About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Daily Life, England, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to making portraits

  1. Alexa says:

    All I can say is Wow! This website is great! Do you take all of the pictures for this? It is great to come across other people that appreciates things such as this. Being a floral designer I actually find this sort of idea very interesting. Can I link back here from my own weblog? Many thanks for posting. Jasmine Bryan

    • gretchen says:

      Alexa, Thanks for looking at my blog. yes, i do take all the pictures for this. It’s really just a blog about my daily life, sometimes boring and sometimes interesting. I write what I feel and what I am thinking about at the moment. I love photography and having been doing ti for a long time. I think it is a wonderfully creative outlet. I like to document life and the world as it is now. It’s a way to preserve our history. I hope you will keep visiting me and making comments. I appreciate your kind words.

Leave a Reply

