photo booths

Here I am again paying $4.00 for one of those silly photo booth pix. I did one at Oaks Park with my Holga camera(this one is my 1976 Hasselblad) and that gave me an idea. Why not every time I visit an amusement park, carnival or fair where there is a photo booth available and I am carrying one of my cameras I have a portrait taken of myself? I know it’s corny, the resolution is terrible and I hate stepping in front of a camera. I am more comfortable behind my cameras. So if I put the camera in front of my face or act silly then it’s not really me, is it?
I know, I know, it’s $4.00, but how often do YOU spend $4.00 on a latte or a mocha? I don’t, so a few times a year I am going to indulge in this little bit of fun and step inside a booth, wait for the light to come on, and act silly.
These booths are showing up at wedding receptions and guests line up for the chance to step back in time and walk out with an analog memory of the day. Whoever decided to start a business renting these booths must be laughing all the way to the bank. I hope I don’t find out that it is really a brain probe that takes a bit of my mind every time the light flashes. Is George Orwell hiding behind the curtain? Paranoia sets in. Time to go to bed.
About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in film and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to photo booths

  1. gretchen says:

    I look like I have a lazy eye. I think I was looking up at the light to see when it would flash. Next time I must remember to look straight ahead.

Leave a Reply

