a day at the fair

Had a great time at the Oregon State Fair yesterday. I have not been in about 20 years and now wonder why? Spent time with the farm animals: goats, cows, sheep and pigs. One of the pigs had 10 new babies. They were so cute. The sheep were super friendly and wanted to be pet. They kept nuzzling us for attention.

We ate the obligatory corn dogs and fries for $16! When did that happen? We listened to a live band who were pretty good and played music from the 60’s and 70’s. We didn’t go on any rides but I spent time, at dusk, taking photos of the lights with my Hasselblad, although all these photos were taken with my iPhone. And when did THAT happen? Never thought I’d see the day I’d use my phone for photography.
We listened to a talk about stealing comps from other photographers. We checked out the photography exhibit and I was asked if I’d be interesting in judging the students entries next year. You bet! There was a lot of quality work. We were quite impressed. We checked out the home craft pavilion: baking, sewing, quits, etc. Amazing cakes, but Ron thinks he can win it next year. 🙂
One of my favorite exhibits was the one that displayed the uniforms of the veterans of the Korean War. I guess each year they choose another war to feature. It’s sad to think there are so many to choose from. Each uniform has the name of a veteran on it with their biography. The Vietnam veteran who was there talking to us gave me bios to be filled out by both my Dad and my niece, veterans from 2 generations apart.
After that emotional exhibit we lightened the mood by watching some fair goers try their luck at the arcade games. Good luck and no luck!
There weren’t many people in attendance yesterday or last night so please, if you love in Oregon, support the Fair or someday soon it will be another one of those American past times that gets scrapped.
About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in iPhone pix, Oregon and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

