emptiness

Not a lot to say today(or so I thought at first)  and so I decided it would be a good time to look at one of the series I am working on called “empty tables, empty chairs”. I plan to work on it for a couple of years, making images in different cities and countries as I travel through. At the end I will put them into a book. I know it seems like an odd subject, but if you think about it long enough it does have some value. I wonder what the tables and chairs are used for, who has sat in them, who will sit in them, will the people be alone, with a loved one, deep in conversation, fighting, making plans or just enjoying a good meal?
Sitting in a chair outside the cottage of Harold Nicoholson in Sissinghurst Garden, England, I had to wonder what he thought about. He was a diplomat and married to Vita Sackville-West, a famous gardener. Both of them were bi and had many lovers but they loved each other too. So what did he think about while sitting in that chair and staring out at the garden? War? Deceit? his wife? his lover? his children?
Or what about the church pew at Hampton Court? It’s where Henry VIII attended chapel when he was in residence. Was he plotting another war, destroying more abbeys, or beheading another wife?
OK, so maybe my chairs aren’t that historical, but they still have history and memories for someone. And I have sat in Harold’s chair and Henry’s pew and they send shivers down my spine. I only wish I had taken pictures of them being empty. Ah, but that was the day of film and I was more conservative with the number of photos I took. Hmmm, gives me an idea. I’ll be back there soon and maybe I should revisit some of these places and make some lasting images….
About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in collections and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

