bookstores

I follow a blog at http://www.LondonvsParis.blogspot.com. Three times a week a woman in London and another in paris choose a subject and then post their images from the respective cities. I’ve tried to find a friend who would do the same with me, but none of them are in to photography the way I am. So I thought, okay, I’ll do it on my own. I’ll check out their blog, three times a week, and then make an image using the same subject they have chosen. They may never see my post, but I thought it would be fun to find their subject in my State of Oregon.  I wish I had started when they did, but better late than never.
So yesterday the subject was bookstores. Mine is from Astoria, Oregon. A little corner bookstore and coffee shop. So many of our bookstores are closing in Portland so it’s nice to find some little independent stores still open in small communities. I hope the e-books won’t signal the whole demise for the printed word on paper.
One of the things I love doing in London is to wander down Charing Cross Rd and visit all the independent bookstores. I will be there in September and I sure hope they are still open. I also plan a week-long visit to Hay on Wye in Wales where the town is loaded with about 40 bookstores. Oh, I will be like a kid in a candy store. Save me.
About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Daily Life, London vs Paris vs. Portland, Oregon and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

