In memory of a gardener

I spent my day visiting the garden of the late Dulcy Mahar who passed away after an eight year battle with ovarian cancer. Her passion was her garden and it was an amazing garden. She inspired so many, including me. Her design of garden rooms shaped my own garden that I worked for more than 20 years.
Dulcy also wrote a weekly garden column in the Oregonian newspaper. Her columns are going to be published in a book this Fall. I can hardly wait. I learned in her column that she loved going to England to visit the gardens there. In 1998, I made my first trip across the pond and I have now visited 22 times.
I saw many old garden friends today and it made me realize that I miss that community of friends and the collective creative minds. So many artistic people. And hundreds of them turned up today to give tribute to a wonderful woman.
These are just a few snippets from her garden.
About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in An idea of home, Gardens, Portland and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

