Big black honker noses

I just spent a wonderful 5 days dog sitting two lovely old english sheepdogs, Sophia and Belle. Sophia is the mother of 5-1/2 month-old Belle. I forgot how much work it is to have a dog around and two….WOW! it’s probably my own fault because I let them rule. Who wouldn’t when you look into those eyes….where are the eyes? Oh, wait they’re in there somewhere under all that fluff. What cuties. Full of energy and love.
My mornings started with Belle pouncing on me at 4:00 a.m., give or take a few minutes on the time. I do mean pounce. Not climb, not nozzle, not a gentle touch with the paw, but a full assault pounce. There is no sleeping through it. As far as she is concerned I’ve slept enough and it’s play time. Luckily I kept my clothes close by in case of needed potty excursions in the middle of the night so I would quickly dress and head out the door for the first walk of the day. By 7 a.m. we had gone on three walks already and an addeed romp in the neighborhood park. The Mom, Sophia, would, I am sure, have liked to stay in bed a few more hours but she dutifully got up with her daughter and after a few stretches and yawns joined in the fun.
By the end of their visit we had people coming by the house wanting to walk them, touch them and have their pictures taken with them. So for 5 days they were the stars of the neighborhood. I was sorry to see them go home although I slept for 10 hours that first night. lol
About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in An idea of home, Daily Life, Old English sheepdogs and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

