Carnivals

Carnivals are a happy place for kids and adults alike. Who doesn’t get excited with anticipation when the carnival starts setting up the tents, food stands and arcades? I know I still do even though I will never win that big teddy that I have wanted for years. I sometimes see people walking around with them and wonder how much, in the end, they cost. But the delight in the recipient is worth parting with the green stuff.
I think I like the rides the best. Not the scary rides that cause you to lose your stomach when they fall from the sky. I like the twirly kind or a ferris wheel….as long as I don’t get stuck on the top. The London Eye isn’t supposed to stop…ever…but let me tell you, it does. And if you are the unlucky one to be at the top of the 450 feet then it can give you just as much a fright as those rides where your stomach ends up in your throat.
The roving carnivals are a sure sign of summer, but they all come to an end eventually and all too soon. On this day I happened to be in Woodburn, Oregon, as one of these was being dismantled. I couldn’t even get one last bag of cotton candy or enjoy the smell of elephant ears and corn dogs. Well, there is probably another one in another town just getting ready to set up.
These photos were all taken with my plastic Holga camera.
About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Daily Life, film. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

