At my sister’s house

Last week I visited my sister in Redding, California. The weather had just turned and the days were over 100 degrees. What can you do when it’s that hot? Well, you go around and take mundane photos inside the house. I must admit that I am influenced by Brian Ferry on ‘the blue hour’. He takes the most amazing, but simple photos of every day life and I love them. It’s a peek into his world. Check him out at: http://www.bferry.wordpress.com     He has recently bought himself a Hassie and I am so jealous.

Each morning at about 6:00 my sister and I would go out for a walk before the heat of the day. Then we’d stay inside for the air conditioning. We did go visit the old western towns of Shasta and Whiskeytown along hwy 299. But, wow, was it blistering hot.

My sister bakes…..a lot….and her kitchen is full of every gadget imaginable. I now wish I had taken even more photos in the kitchen. I had carried a bread machine down to her from my home in Portland and she made the most yummy loaf of bread for me. I would love to bake more, but I’d have to give it all away because if I ate it all I’d have to add another 10 miles to my daily walks.

I’ll be posting more photos from this trip as the week goes on. One of the strangest places we visited was a cemetery in Whiskeytown. Stay tuned for the photos.

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in An idea of home, Daily Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to At my sister’s house

  1. Very nice post today. Thanks for sharing. Spending time with family is something that

    I truly enjoy doing. I look forward to reading more of your future post. Thanks

    again!

    For more great family ideas I recommend you check out:

    Fun Family Activities

Leave a Reply

