A trip to Astoria

I took a little trip to Astoria yesterday to try out a new filter I bought. I expected cloudy skies, but instead I was greeted with sunshine. Normally that would be a good thing but the light can be quite harsh at the Oregon coast when the sun is high in the sky.
I stopped by Light Box Photographic Gallery to take in the Plastic Camera juried show. It did not disappoint. I am constantly amazed what photographers are doing with simple cameras with plastic lenses. I had no clear-cut favorites because I thought they were all just wonderful. If you can, make a trip to Astoria to visit this wonderful gallery. Shows change monthly and if you visit their website, http://www.lightbox-photographic.com, you can read about upcoming shows and how to make submissions for consideration.
With the sun out I decided to stop at a cafe around the corner from LightBox for a light lunch and iced tea before heading to the ship wreck, Peter Iredale, to test the new filter. I’m pretty happy with the result as I was able to stop down far enough to create a longer exposure, smooth out the ocean, create a mist, and calm down that bright sky. The filter is a variable ND filter that can stop down 4-stops. What I really like about it is that I can have it on a lighter setting to help with the focusing and then with just a twist I can stop it down.
Because the light was a bit harsh I decided to drive around the town and find some things to shoot. For those of you following my blog, you know I like abandoned buildings. I found several old gas stations and decided to zoom in on the decay and rust of the one I found on 8th Street.
I wish I could have stayed for sunset, but being on my own I feel that being on the beach in the dark is not the safe thing to do. So back in the car by 6:00 and on my way home to Portland.

 

 

 

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Daily Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

