Where have I been

I don’t know what has happened to me lately. I retired and now I seem to be so busy that I haven’t had time to post anything here. I still have a pile of photos and stories from my recent trip to the Palouse in SE Washington and Hells Canyon in NE Oregon. I’ll get to those later.

What I want to share is my recent trip to Seattle. My very good friend Lori and her two daughters, Maggie and Nellie, asked me to take a little weekend trip up to Seattle this past weekend. Maggie, 21, was accepted for a work/study program in London, yes, my London, and so we were seeing her off to what will be a summer adventure. What a lucky girl. She is a Communications/Marketing/Business major and managed to nail down a PR and marketing job for a company called Belle and Bounty. You’ve got to love the name. Their store is located in Campden Town and the clothes are very trendy. I’m not sure if she will be working out of there or their corporate headquarters. I can’t wait to follow her escapades. I do know that after one day she has fallen in love with London. Not hard to do, take my word for it.

Anyway, we had a great weekend. Lori and I have been wanting to try out Molly Wizenburg’s restaurant, Delanceys, in N Seattle, ever since reading her book, A Homemade Life. Some of you might know her from her blog, Orangette. After waiting almost 2 hours for our table we had the most amazing dinner. I wanted to take photos of the food, but just as we sat down the lights were turned off and I was unable to get anything. The 2 hours we waited were not in vain as it was a gorgeous evening and we used the time to our advantage by walking off calories BEFORE our meal. At one point Nellie didn’t want to walk any further and so she squatted on the side-walk in a way that looks quite funny…..as you can see in her pic.

It was a very late night, not getting back to our room until almost midnight. We were awakened by our noisy neighbors and Lori quickly put an end to that. Then later we heard people outside and Lori thought she saw some men down on the street standing around and smoking. But in the morning we looked out our window and discovered that what we thought was street level was really another roof. We could not figure out how they got there. I had dreamed they came through our window. Creepy. We gave it up to too much wine at dinner.

We spent Sunday wandering around Pikes Market, buying our crumpets, poking into darling shops and coming to the conclusion that neither of us likes crowds very much.

It was a wonderful weekend shared with friends I’ve known for more than 20 years. Good friends, good food, and a great city. Couldn’t ask for more.

Now I’m home and trying to catch up before my next trip to visit my sister in Redding, California, and my Dad at Lake Almanor.

PS: I’ll get those photos up from my workshop in the Palouse…..soon.

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Daily Life, iPhone pix, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

