Seeing the Palouse

I had such an amazing adventure attending an Exposure Northwest photography workshop in the Palouse. The Palouse is an area in SE Washington whose landscape enthralls the senses. Rolling hills of green and brown, ribbons of color and texture, barns, farm tools and dusty road all lend themselves to creating such  a beautiful landscape.
Although the 3:30 a.m. wake-ups each morning to get out and capture the light were not too thrilling, after a cup of coffee or two I never noticed being tired. After our morning shoots we’d head off to Pullman, Washington for some breakfast and then some of the group would go back to their hotel to take naps, but some of us would carry on until several hours after sunset. Long days and late nights were worth the effort because we were all rewarded with some great shots.
I highly recommend the workshops. I met some very nice people who I had seen on Flickr but now could put faces to their photos. Aaron and Zeb were great leaders and informative and helpful. I learned several tips that I am now routinely applying to my photography. I also discovered that Aaron drives about 90 mph over rough roads and there is no way I could keep up. I did come home with a few new chips on my car……:(   But well worth it.
I plan to return to this area during different seasons. The Fall turns the fields into waves of golden brown and yellow. Winter dusts the fields with snow. It’s a changing landscape from season to season.

PS: why is my blog still acting up and not allowing my writing to come after all my photos, but instead inserting it wherever it wants? Does anyone have any idea how to fix this?

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Travel, Washington and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

