Happy Mothers Day

It’s Mothers Day in America and I can see no other way to honor my Mom than by sharing some college photos of her. My Mom was a beautiful woman, inside and out, and always put the needs of others before her own.
She died too soon, some 20 years ago, and I miss her every day. Sometimes you don’t know what you have until you don’t. The first year I didn’t need to buy a Mothers Day card was when it really hit me. or when I’d want to pick up the phone and tell her something but couldn’t. No longer would my Christmas stocking be filled on Christmas Eve, or would Easter baskets arrive in the mail for my dog filled with doggie treats(because I had no children).
After she was gone and I was going through her things, I discovered she kept a file on each of her three children. In my file were the postcards I had sent from college itemizing why I needed some money, all the dance programs I had performed in, the awards for scholastic achievements, and even the little clay pieces I’d made in grammar school. All these things saved over the years are now in my possession. In her hope chest were her wedding dress, my 8th grade graduation dress and my First Communion dress……the hope chest and wedding dress went to my niece and my two dresses now hang in the closet of my English friend, Sophie.
I could go on and on about all the things my Mom did for us kids, the neighborhood kids, friends, and strangers….but some memories are kept to oneself. All I can say is that if your mother is still alive then cherish every moment because one day you’ll only have memories.
About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in An idea of home and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

