A new/old camera

These ghostly images were taken with an old camera, Zeiss Ikon Nettar. The camera is from the 1930’s and has been in my family for years. So I thought I’d put a roll of film in it and hit the streets of Portland. First I cleaned the camera inside and out.
There is no real way to focus so I read the manual and used the settings they recommended for thew type of film and the type of photography I would be doing. The viewfinder is foggy and dark at the best light. So I had no idea what my photos would look like. I was surprised at the results, but I kind of like them. It looks like I coated the lens with Vasoline, but I didn’t. The images are in focus, I think, but they are soft to the extreme. I plan to try another roll of film, change the settings,  and see if I get the same results. I love trying these old cameras and I have quite a few to play with.
What do you think?
About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in film, street photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

