Weather changes

foggy afternoon

rain and 80 mph winds

early morning

first light
This sums up my weekend in Astoria, Oregon, this weekend. When we arrived on Saturday afternoon the fog was coming in rapidly so that within an hour we couldn’t see the North end of the bridge. Then as the sun went down the rain came thundering down accompanied by 80 mph wind gusts. I climbed down some slippery rocks to get to the beach, but I was unable to set up my tripod and the wind kept blowing me side to side. Therefore, I decided to leave the horizon in the photo just as I saw it.
I set my alarm to awaken me about 30 minutes before sunrise….just in case. No matter what the weather I was going out. To my surprise and delight I was awarded with blue skies, fluffy clouds and a pink cast coming from the East. We were lucky, the whole morning was dry, but just as we were getting ready to leave Astoria the sky was changing again and we could feel rain in the air.
The weekend was made even better with our visit to Light Box Photographic Gallery where we both had some photos being shown. Make a trip to Astoria to visit this beautiful gallery and you might be treated to some amazing weather.
About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Oregon, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

