Pinhole camera goofs

Maybe this is why people like to use digital cameras. At least you know when you have goofed, but with film you don’t know until you pick up the negatives from the processor. In this case I figured out what I had done before I finished the roll, but I had no idea that I ruined almost the whole roll of film. My pinhole camera, which I love, had been sitting idle for a couple of months and when I started using it again I looked at the wrong counter window when I was advancing the film. There are three windows, depending on what size negative you want. I wanted 6×9 and had adjusted the camera just for that, but then advanced the film for a 6×6.
I think I have learned my lesson and hopefully it won’t happen again.
I enjoy using the pinhole: no view finder and no LCD screen. You have to visualize the composition before taking the photo. The angle of view is large and that can sometimes be a challenge, but it makes you slow down and think about the process of making a photo. I’ll keep working at it.
The photo I used for my heading on this blog is a pinhole photo I made at Cape Kiwanda on the Oregon Coast.

 

FYI: These are 40 second exposures. I used Kodak Ektar 100 film.
About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Travel, Washington and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

