Soup on a cold night

Leek, potato and carrot soup

Nothing quite hits the spot on a cold night more than homemade soup. I had some veggies in the fridge that needed to be used so I just threw them into the crock pot with some broth and let it simmer for 5 hours. Here’s the recipe:

3 red potatoes
5 leeks
4 carrots
one clove of garlic
dash of curry
2 cans of vegetable broth
I cleaned the veggies, chopped and put into the crock pot. I added two cans of vegetable broth and one can of water. After I cooked it on ‘high’ for 5 hours I carefully spooned it into a food processor and processed until big chunks became a slurry but left some smaller chunks of veg for texture.

It’s a nice thick soup that along with a piece of crusty bread makes a good dinner.

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Daily Life, Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

