Looking for the weird

Portland, Oregon,  and Austen, Texas, are advertised as ‘weird’. If you believe what you see on the new TV program, “Portlandia”, then Portland is weird. So I went out looking for it. I’m thinking of going neighborhood by neighborhood in search of this weirdness. Saturday I started with the SE Hawthorne area. I hide my camera remote in my pocket and shoot from the hip so that I go unnoticed. I’m not ever sure what exactly my results will be….whether anything will be in focus or not, but that is the fun of shooting from the hip. Now I’m not so sure I found any genuine weirdness, but just young Portlanders in brightly colored clothes and hair out enjoying the day.

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Daily Life, Neighborhoods and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

