Road Trip

Drove to the Oregon Coast today to deliver some prints to Light Box Photographic Gallery in Astoria, Oregon. The show opens on February 12th. They chose three prints, all black and white, and I am very happy about that. This will be the first time my photos will actually be on a wall in a gallery. All three were taken with film with a Zero Image pinhole camera and a Noblex panoramic camera.

Although I do use my DSLR more often, I like to slow down and use film.  You are never quite sure what you’ll get and I think that is the fun of it. The pinhole camera doesn’t have a viewfinder or an LCD screen to check to see if you’ve got it right. You have to use your eye and plan the composition. Then take the film to be developed and get excited, or disappointed, when you see the results. My pinhole photo of Cape Kiwanda that will be shown at Light Box was also displayed at the top of an article about pinhole photography on the BBC Viewfinder website. Being an Anglophile at heart I was quite excited about that. So, if you can, try to make it to Light Box in Astoria, Oregon. It’s a wonderful gallery and the owners, Michael and Chelsea, are a delight. Michael is a collector of cameras and I could spend hours just looking at all his cameras and lusting after more than just a few.

So more about the day: About 10 miles away from Astoria we were hit by rain, wind and fog. Not just a little wind, but the kind that makes your car move side to side when you know you mean to go forward. After dropping off our photos we continued down the coast highway to have lunch at Mo’s Chowder House and grab a couple of photos of Cannon Beach. We had planned to make low tide at Hug Point but by then the sand was swirling around our ankles and we decided to pass because the last time we had these conditions it was a $200 bill to clean Ron’s lens. I did manage to use my pinhole camera and hopefully will get those back soon.

On a positive note, we saw a beautiful exhibit at Light Box, visited with the owners, held some fabulous old cameras in our hands and had a great lunch at Mo’s. We’ll return to Astoria in two weeks for the opening and maybe the weather will be better and I can walk along the beach.

Happy weekend everyone.

  1. driving down the road taking a photo as we went over a bump
  2. Haystack Rock at Cannon Beach taken in pouring down rain and heavy wind
  3. a person braving the weather
  4. Mo’s Chowder House
  5. my chowder
  6. restaurant decor
  7. logged area
  8. light at the end of the tunnel
About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Oceans, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

