“We don’t need no ****** snow chains”

Famous last words. The above quote was uttered with much confidence by my driver and husband as we headed down SR14 toward Panther Creek Falls.

“But why weren’t the chains still in the car from our last outing,” she questioned.

“Well, I don’t plan on being anywhere today where we’ll need them,” he replied in no uncertain terms as snow is falling around us.

“But you brought the shovel, right?”

“NO”

And so today’s adventure or misadventure began.

Now I always chuckle when I read about other Flickr pals like Aaron or Greg when they find themselves in some precarious situation. I say to myself, “I’m glad I’m not so adventuresome or brave”.  Well, today I prayed that those redneck mountain men they told me about would come my way and dig us out. No luck. Instead I walked  2 1/2 miles down the mountain road to find some help as said driver tried to dig us out with the ice scraper.

Help came in the form of a little Wrangler with a young, newly engaged couple, inside. I flagged them down and luckily they stopped and agreed to come to our aid. Unfortunately they told me, there was no room in their vehicle for me and so I was left to hike back up the 2 1/2 miles I had just come down. It was now beginning to snow quite heavily. I just hoped no wild animals would come across my path as the only weapon I had was my 5DMark II. I was concerned about the tracks in the snow that were not mine and not that of a cute Bambi. But I kept thinking that any minute I would see the familiar CRV coming around the corner. I just wanted to have a sit down and a rest, but on I pressed only to find my husband and our two saviors still trying to dig out the car.  The only thing that had happened in the past 2+ hours since I had left the car was that it was now on the other side of the road and closer to plunging down a ravine. I was happy that my camera was around my neck and not in the car just in case the car became a total loss. I did say that I wanted a new one…..not camera, but car.

What we needed was more traction, and being a woman with some common sense I decided the rubber floor mats might do the trick. I came up with this as I was walking back up the mountain but when I tried to use my cell phone to tell the three about my idea….no cell service. Figures.  So after I walked back up I told them to place the floor mats under the tires. They pushed and I got behind the wheel. Voila, it worked. Next time I’ll stay with the car and let Ron head down the hill. God, I’m so smart. lol

But there were some good things that came out of the day:

Ron’s lessons:

1. Say 100 times, “My wife is always right”

2. Carry chains IN the car from October to May when you live in the Pacific NW.

3. Next time we are at REI but the collapsible shovel he was told to buy only yesterday.

4. Be prepared for the worst and be happy when it doesn’t happen because weren’t you an Eagle Scout?

The positive outcomes for me:

1. I got some good pix while I walked those 5 miles

2. I don’t have to go to the gym today

3. Those waterproof gloves I got at REI yesterday kept my hands dry, warm and still allowed me to operate my camera.

4. I never came face to face with a cougar.

Now I’m home with a hot cup of cocoa. Ron is at REI buying the shovel and some gloves for the people who helped us. The chains are in the car for the next adventure. We were lucky. It could have been much worse, but I had packed food, water, flash lights, down sleeping bags, waterproof clothes and my Swiss Army knife.  Hopefully this mishap will help others be prepared when going out to snap a few pix. You just never know………

 

 

 

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Daily Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

